Mother

My mother had only one eye,

I hated her as I was ashamed of her. She was a cook in the school cafeteria where I studied. One day, when I saw (still in a primary class), she came to visit me to see for herself that I was all right. I was very upset, how dare she do this to me? After that incident I ignored her & looked on her only with hateful eyes.

The next day, a fellow-student told me, “oohhh, your mother has only one eye!”
At that moment, I wanted to crawl under the floor and that my mother would be out of my life completely. The next day I went to meet her & to tell here,”Because of you I am the joke at school. Why don’t you die or go away?” But, she did not respond. I wasn’t thinking and did not know what I was saying, I was very angry. I could not imagine how she would react to my remarks. And, I left town.

I studied relentlessly and obtained a scholarship to continue my studies abroad. In fact, I completed my studies, got married, bought a house and set up my family. I lived a happy and a peaceful life.

One day, my mother comes to visit me. It has been many years since she had disappeared. She had never met here grand-children. She remained at the doorstep While my children were making fun of her.

I shouted at her,”How dare you come all the way here and frighten my kids?” With a calm voice she responded, “I apologize, I am at the wrong address.” And she disappeared.

One day, I received an invitation from my hometown school to attend a reunion under the “Close Family Ties” topic. I lied to my wife and made her believe that
I was traveling for business. After the reunion I stopped by the house where I grew up. The neighbours informed me that my mother had passed away. I did not shed even one drop of tear.

The neighbor handed me a letter that my mother had left for me:

“My Dear son, I always thought of you. I regret having visited you abroad and frightened your kids. I was very pleased when I heard that you would come to attend the reunion. The only thing was that I could not get up from my bed to come and see you. I am broken-hearted that I brought shame to you on numerous occasions. Did you know that, when you were a baby you had an accident and lost your one eye and, as any other mother would, I would not let you grow up with only one eye ? So. I gave you my eye. I was very proud and happy to know that my son would be able to see the world with my eye.
With all my love
Your mother

Qur’aan 17: 23 & 24
Thy Lord hath decreed that ye worship none but Him, and that ye be kind to parents. Whether one or both of them attain old age in thy life, say not to them a word of contempt, nor repel them, but address them in terms of honour. And, out of kindness, lower to them the wing of humility, and say: “My Lord! bestow on them thy Mercy even as they cherished me in childhood.”

Sahih Al-Bukhari 8.4
“It is one of the greatest sins that a man should curse his parents.”

Leave a comment